Volunteer And Trading Time

Hello everyone!  This was supposed to be for yesterday, however, I ran out of time in my day.  So, today is just as inspired as yesterday was, and I’m going to share my thoughts on this now.

During service, yesterday, our message was on volunteering.  And, to make a great point, service was led by a volunteer who was taking the place of pastor, while he was out.  He used the volunteering of building our church as a base example, but he went further than that even.fall-678492_1920

So, to start out, I want to share with you the prayer we had started the message out with, yesterday.

A Volunteer’s Prayer

I thank thee, Lord, as a volunteer:

For the chance to serve again this year;

To give of myself in some small way

To those not blessed as I each day.

 

My thanks for health of mind and soul

To aid me ever toward my goal;

For eyes to see the good in all,

A hand to extend before a fall.

 

For legs to go where the need is great

Learning to love – forgetting to hate;

For ears to hear and heart to care

When someone’s cross is hard to bear

 

A smile to show my affection true,

With energy plenty the task to do;

And all I ask, dear Lord, if I may,

Is to serve you better, day by day.

This prayer came from the bulletin from Lyon’s Muir Church as well as from newsletternewsletter.com Oct. 2008

To me, this sermon spoke very deeply.  I know I have been slacking a bit on the writing end.  But, I can assure you that Mama Bug has been hard at work.  I have been volunteering time to help those in need and have been helping at church.

One of the things I have been working on, is something I call Trader Mom’s.  And, I am happy to say that I am finally ready to launch it officially.  It is still a work in progress, however, I intend to work hard to get it going very well.

What is Trader Mom’s?

Trader Mom’s is something I have started that is similar to a Mom to Mom sale, however, there will be no cash exchanged here.  It is simply mother’s coming in and trading.  So, say your buggy was wearing a 2T, however they have now grown out of it, and you are in need of 3T’s like nobody’s business.  And to top it all off, you really don’t have the money to go and resupply your buggy’s entire wardrobe.  Or, maybe you just need a few things to hold you over until you can afford new clothes.  You just bring in those 2T’s that your buggy doesn’t fit into anymore, and trade them for some 3T’s.  Simple as that.

What if I don’t need to trade, but want to help?

So, you don’t need to trade, but you are blessed with an overabundance of clothing.  Well, that is how I started the Trader Mom’s idea.  I have been blessed with three beautiful girl buggies, and many a hand me down.  So many that my buggy’s dressers were exploding with clothing.  But, I didn’t want to just through them out.  So I started Trader Mom’s instead.  You can VOLUNTEER your extra clothing to help grow Trader Mom’s inventory, for those that do need it.

What if I want to help, but do not have clothing to give?

For those of you, who do not have clothing to give, there are still many ways to help.  You can donate financially and, or, contact me to see if there are any things needed to be done for Trader Mom’s.  I may have a few needs.  Like, currently, I am in need of totes and containers to hold and organize the clothing I have.Journaling

What does this have to do with volunteering?

Often we look at things and pass them by.  We don’t think twice about what it could be doing for others.  We don’t realize the unseen hands behind the scenes trying to put things together.  Or, sometimes, we are those unnoticed unseen hands behind the scenes being passed by.  God wants us to help one another.  He wants us to share those blessings that we have been abundantly blessed with.  There are many ways and many things we all can volunteer for, this is just one of the things I was called to do for my fellow mommies.

One more note on Trader Mom’s

Trader Mom’s will have all types and sizes of clothing, and will be for little bugs and big bugs alike.   This is a start to something bigger, and as it grows, I hope to share the progress with you all.  If you are in need, would like to donate, or would like to volunteer your help with Trader Mom’s please contact me and let me know.  I would love to hear from you!

Have you ever?

Have you ever volunteered?  Did God call you to this, or was it something you created?  What kinds of things are you passionate about giving back for?  And what are you abundantly blessed in?  Leave me a comment below.

Leave a Reply

