Burritos

Something we do at my house, is buy meat when it is on sale, and get it in larger quantities to save a few bucks.  Now a days meat and fresh produce are so expensive.  So, why don’t we eat healthy?  Most of us have a hard time not buying the preprocessed food, because it is so much more expensive.  Who would have thought that a small salad would cost more than a few boxes of pasta sides?  Let alone all the other things that our bodies need.  So, to solve this issue, this is why we shop at multiple stores, and keep an eye out for sales on the meat cuts that we prefer.  We also will drive all the way to Grand Rapids about once a month to stock up at our favorite store over there as well.

In the mean time, this touches a bit on the Back To Scratch that I’ll get into once I’m done cleaning out the store-bought things out of my cupboards.  We eat a lot of Mexican food here at my house.  But every once in a while, you just want a burrito.  A plain burrito, without all the hassle.  I happened to buy some burgher on sale at Meijer the other day, and it needed to be sorted out, and cooked up.  One of the three, 3 lbs. packages we got, went into making burritos.

Similar to the microwave burritos you can buy in packages and keep in your freezer  However, these don’t have quite as much false flavor and preservatives.  I say quite as much, because I didn’t make the beans myself since I’d had a few cans in my cupboard, along with some diced green chiles.

I made two separate batches.  One for my children, or general that you can add salsa and the like later, and one a bit spicier.  The spicier batch was 1 lbs. of ground beef.  But, first, I warmed up about 2 Tbsp. oil in my pan, and tossed in about a third of a medium-sized onion, diced.  Fry your onions, over medium heat, until they are lightly browned. Then add in your burger and add in any other spices to your flavor.  For this batch I put in 1 Tbsp. Garlic Powder, 1 tsp. Salt, 2 Tbsp. Paprika, and a 4 oz. can of the spicier diced chiles (diced green jalapeños).

Spicy Burrito Filling
Spicy Burrito Filling

Continue to fry this on medium heat, until it is all browned and mixed well.  Then add, straight to the pan, a 15 oz. can of refried beans and your second 4 oz. can of diced chiles.  When you add these chiles, try to be sure you have drained them well.  However, if there is a bit too much water in it, that is fine, as you can simmer out the more liquid part.  It just cooks a bit longer.

Once all these are added, and mixed in until the beans are smoothly mixed in and warm with the meat, you are ready to wrap and serve.  I made such a large batch, and I used larger flour tortilla shells, so that I could make a larger burrito.  Wrap them up and serve, or after wrapping them, allow them to cool.  Bag them, and toss them in the freezer, so that you can heat them as you go.

Home made frozen burritos
Home made frozen burritos

The larger the burrito you make, the longer it takes to cook in the microwave when you go to reheat them.  I reheated some today, after they were frozen solid, and it took 6 minutes in the microwave to heat two, which I divided in half to give to myself and my three little buggies.

Happy cooking, and leave me a comment below to let me know how the recipe worked out for you.

Leave a Reply

