Salsa

Salsa is something I’ve made for a few years now.  When I first learned it, it was from a wonderful friend that I currently no longer have contact with.  She, actually, taught me how to cook and how to enjoy it.  Although she cooked for an army on a daily basis, as at least half of her family ate at her house daily.

Salsa can be made with a multitude of different produce items.  I’ve had a lot of people ask me how to make my salsa.  It is difficult to do without actually showing most people, but once explained it is about taste, it makes the lack of measurements easier.

So, for all of you who are curious about salsa, this one is for you.

Ingredients:

  • 4 Roma Tomatoes
  • 1 Tooth of Garlic
  • 1 Small Onion
  • 2 Jalapeños
  • 2-3 Tbsp. Cilantro
  • 1 Tbsp. of Salt

Directions:

  1. In a sauce pan, put your jalapeños and tomatoes in some water, and boil until they are soft, and remove from heat.  You can tell because the skin starts to wrinkle.
  2. Carefully remove the jalapeños and tomatoes from the and put them into your blender, with the tomatoes at the bottom.
  3. Add the onion, garlic, cilantro, and salt to the blender, and blend until it has liquefied.  Add a small amount of water from the sauce pot (about 2 Tbsp.), to help liquefy.
  4. Place in a bowl and serve hot, or let it cool off and serve it cold.Salsa

Salsa is a very versatile thing.  You can change it according to your tastes.  This is just a basic to start out with.  You can always add chunks, change or add more peppers, and you can always change the tomatoes for different tomatoes, or make green salsa with tomatillos.  No matter how you do it, how you serve it, or how you eat it, there is always someone out there with a different idea or a different taste.

Some cannot have a lot of spice, so they may leave the peppers out or opt for sweet peppers.  I’ve used that option for my buggies, because they love salsa, but they cannot eat it as spicy as daddy does.  Another thing I do for them, is keep the jalapeños in them, but I strip the veins and seeds out before I add them to the pot to boil.

Warning!!!  Whenever you are working with hot peppers, even just cutting them.  The veins and seeds on the inside of the pepper are very hot.  Without washing your hands, you DO NOT want to touch your face, eyes, mouth, or even get this in the vicinity of any area that could burn.  So, that itch under your nose, in the middle of cutting hot peppers….just don’t do it.  After I am finished cutting, or if I have to stop to attend to a buggy, I wash my hands with lime and salt to help take the burn away from my hands, before I touch the little ones especially. I’ve even cut peppers that are so hot, they literally burn your hands.

So, go forth and make salsa!!!  And tell me what you came up with!

Leave a Reply

